top of page

Happy National Historic Preservation Month!!

Updated: Sep 16, 2021

I just realized it's National Historic Preservation Month!! That means I have to make my posts more about historic preservation!


For the past few blogs I posted, I posted properties that were completely gone. I was sad to think about that. I was very into the people who lived there before their properties were demolished. You never know until you start digging into research about the owners. You never know if they played a big part in US history.


For today, I want to acknowledge the properties that were listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Included are the links to their NRHP application forms that made them famous in their communities.


Lower Gwynedd:


Whitpain:


Unfortunately, Ambler doesn't have any buildings that were listed on the NRHP.


Even when there were properties and homes that weren't eligible for the NRHP, they will always be considered significant within the communities. That is why I created my blog: to recognized the places that are still standing today, or places that were gone. It's incredible to see that there are people who still love historic homes, and want to live in there in order to save them.


As an amateur historian, I learned many things on the way through my researches. It astonished me what I found with just only using Google since we are all staying at home during the pandemic. I'm so glad there are sources like Internet Archives and Google Books that gave me free access to primary sources. What would I do without them?


Without them, I will never know anything about those homes and properties.


Remember: Appreciate the old/historic buildings that are still standing today. You never know what stories they want to share :)


Bibliography:


"Cultural Resources Geographic Information System." Pennsylvania Historical & Museum Commission. Accessed May 7, 2020. https://gis.penndot.gov/CRGIS.


87 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page